“Excuse me, there appears to be a dead fly in my fruit salad”, the woman in blue dress protested.  The temptation to ask her how she knew it was dead was overwhelming, however I professionally suppressed the invitation to mock and instantly placed an expression of utter revulsion upon my tortured face.

“A fly Madam!  Dead!  In your fruit salad.  My apologises, please let me replace it at once.” I earnestly insisted whilst moving forward to retrieve the untouched plate from the table.  “I can assure you the fly was most definitely alive when I brought it from the kitchen.”

.

© Paul Nichol.  2017

Leave a Reply

