We all break given time (triolet)

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Poetry, Triolet
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

.

.

When I was fragmented, and no one came,

I listened to the ticking of the clock.

Were you refrained by a sense of your shame?

When I was fragmented, and no one came.

Through long lonely days, my world was unchanged,

Tick-tock.  Tick-Tock.  Tick-tock.  Tick-tock.  Tick-tock.

When I was fragmented, and no one came,

I listened to the ticking of the clock.

.

.

© Paul Nichol December 2013

Various poems can be found on my blog, please take a moment and explore.

Comments
  1. Eliza Waters says:

    You really captured the sense of loneliness that is at the heart of depression. Poignant.

    • Paul Nichol says:

      I have travelled many paths in my time and depression (if that was its name) was one of them. Some paths I still scar with my footprints and I am a better man for having done so. Thank you again Eliza for taking the time to write you thoughtful comment. 🙂

  2. utalap says:

    Well this painted a rather dark image in my head which is fine because I think that’s the point. It seems this is the first time I’ve seen this poetry form so I might try it as well!

    • Paul Nichol says:

      Sorry for darkening your thoughts so early in the year, and yes you should try a Triolet I really enjoy the structural discipline. I look forward to reading the posts……….. 🙂

      Thank you for all your recent likes….Paul

Leave a Reply

