Your voice upon the wind

Posted: November 6, 2013 in Free Verse Poetry, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

.

.

I heard you cry my name upon the salted wind

the day you died

Mother.

 

As if over the broad shoulder of my solitary life

time had somehow forgiven the missed moments

of us.

 

And that your need for me, in the time of your passing

excused your unexpected approach

towards me.

 

In death, had the barbed, impenetrable tumbleweed

choking  the foothills and valleys of our union

been blown away.

 

Was my name, easier to cast upon the ageless wind of time

knowing, only there, I would hear the stillness of you, and not

retort.

 

I turned, as any child should, at the sound of its mother’s voice,

I saw nothing of you, but I felt only the breath of conflict finally expire.

you were gone.

.

.

© Paul Nichol    November 2013

Various poems can be found on my blog, please take a moment and explore.

Leave a Reply

