Defective Sight

Posted: February 19, 2013 in My Journey

I watch the flicker of you swaying in my shame

illuminating infidelity appears invigorating

you bless me with your forgiveness

how righteous I have made you

deception has born you an angel’s guise

my passion, a spiteful spear in your hand

comforting words are not for my benefit

fingers entwined are engaged only to bind me

to, hold me within your tentative gaze

which now I perceive with a clear vision

easy sex has shattered professed perfection

crumpled my complexion upon your eye

my beauty, broken by reckless passion

deconstructed, a misshaped muse,

crushed by the shifting glacier of guilt

you placed so skilfully around me.

© Paul Nichol 2012

Leave a Reply

